Fresh Starts and New Beginnings

I have always been fascinated by the passing of time.  The strangeness of how a day can feel as though it drags on and on, while at the same time, five years pass in the blink of an eye.  This curious dichotomy makes it effortlessly easy to lose track of time.  I also seem to have lost track of this blog.*

About a month ago now, I moved from California to Oregon.  I took a road trip up the west coast with my friends, moved in to my new apartment, and started classes.  Being the new kid is challenging, but I’ve gotten pretty accustomed to moving and starting over.  I’ve lived in 3 different states and a different country, so starting over doesn’t seem so scary anymore.  However, this is what has taken up most of my time, rather than keeping up with this blog.

I look forward to the fresh start.  A new adventure: a chance to reinvent myself and find out who I want to be.  Honestly, I have been lost, wandering aimlessly these past few years, and I am hoping that a change of scenery will revamp my creative juices and restore my sense of self.

Times like this remind me of something my dad once told me.  He says that most people are born, live, and die all within fifty miles of their birthplace.  They rarely, if ever, leave this tiny bubble, and therefore miss out on seeing many of the wonders this world has to offer.  For instance, my grandmother Sylvia lived in Pennsylvania, and never got the chance to see the Pacific Ocean, may she rest in peace.  She spent most of her time living and working so close to home that she never even saw the other side of her country.

Looking back, I am grateful for the opportunities that I have had thus far.  Each journey brings its own trials and tribulations, and each leap teaches me something new about myself.  I have lived in four different houses, two different apartments, two different dorm rooms, and I am sure the list will only continue to grow as I get older.  I’ve been to ten countries, fourteen states, and countless cities.  It’s mind-boggling to think about how many places I have been, but the most exciting part is the fact that there is still so much to see.  My journey isn’t over.  It’s a huge world, with so many places and cultures to see, and I can’t wait to continue traveling and living my life to the fullest potential.

(*Disclaimer: I warned that this might happen in the very first post.  I’m working on being more consistent – should be easy since I don’t know many people yet!)

2 thoughts on “Fresh Starts and New Beginnings

Leave a Reply

