Quirks, Musings, Adventures, and Mishaps

I am not individual when I say that, like every other twenty-something, I am still trying to figure it all out. Like most others my age, I struggle with the existential crises that come with the territory, be it the stereotypical “What am I doing with my life?,” or “What is my purpose on this Earth?,” or even, “Is it healthy to binge-watch an entire season of Parks and Rec in one day?”  As I am only twenty years old at this moment in time, I have barely even scratched the surface of this bizarre, dynamic decade. I can only imagine what the future holds – what an incredibly exciting, and incredibly terrifying, thought.

A teacher and mentor of mine suggested that I start a blog, and I wrestled with the idea for a while. I love to write, and thoroughly enjoy spending time on the Internet, which seems like the perfect mix for a blogger.  But my thoughts were as such: what can I put on this blog that isn’t already on the Internet somewhere?  I mean, it took twenty minutes just to think of a blog name that wasn’t already taken, let alone the contents of the blog.  But I eventually came to the conclusion that, regardless of what already exists in the cybersphere, a blog could be helpful for my own mental health; and if my words can entertain, help, or even comfort someone else, that is more than I could ask for. Thus, in an attempt to successfully navigate my twenties, I have decided to join the masses and write this blog. Here I’ll chronicle my adventures, mishaps, musings, and quirks along the way.

I just recently got back from a semester studying abroad in Paris. Those five months were by far the most challenging months of my life, but also the most rewarding. Travel changes you for the better, through ways in which I had not expected.  In January, I hopped on a plane to France, a country 5,000 miles away from home, where I knew no one, spoke none of the language beyond “bonjour” and “croissant”, and really had no idea what I was getting myself into.  I came back to the United States with knowledge of the French language (albeit, elementary), unforgettable memories, and extraordinary friends.  Living abroad taught me independence, but also co-dependence, in that we are innately the same as a race, and must work together on a global scale.  However, I missed out on an equally awesome opportunity, of blogging about my time and adventures abroad. Instead, I chose to keep a pen-and-paper journal, because it feels more personal and sentimental to me. So, there will probably be a few anecdotes and recollections about those memories and experiences in this blog from time to time.

I am at a transitional place in my life right now. I am still acclimating to life in the United States, after a semester of eating stinky cheeses and Nutella crêpes all the time. I am trying to figure out who I am, who I want to be, and what I would like to accomplish. And this blog will follow me every step of the way.

2 thoughts on “Quirks, Musings, Adventures, and Mishaps

Leave a Reply

